Thread: head hunting for new members

head hunting for new members

Is it ethical to visit a co-op and ask if anybody wants to join a different co-op?

I'm in a three person co-op and we're looking for new members. Advertising doesn't seem to work. Most players around level sixty seem happy to stay where they are.

I've been visiting other co-ops inbetween races to try to recruit new members and have been limiting my visits to small co-ops who might be interested in merging with ours. Would it be against some unwritten rule to visit larger co-ops to see if anybody is unhappy where they are and might be convinced to try something smaller?

I don't want to step on anybody's toes, but I've been in the situation myself where I was unhappy with how the co-op was being run and would have been happy to have somebody drop in to recruit me for a more suitable co-op.

I'm not very experienced, but I'd be upset if someone visited my co-op with the express purpose of poaching all my members. I don't think it's actually against the rules though.

I'm also trying to recruit new members to my co-op, but I'm doing invitations via the friends list. I look for people in my "recent helpers" who are in co-ops where they are maybe the only ones helping, or maybe one of only a few players. Then I put them on my friends list, and once they accept, send an invitation to my co-op. I think only elder & above can send invitations though.

Edit - I just saw your other post about the time limit to join co-ops. The fact that the time limit exists seems to imply that the co-op hopping you describe is discouraged. Not sure though.
    Last edited by Villette; 10-30-2019 at 09:47 PM.

Hi

Quote Originally Posted by douglasnorth View Post
    Is it ethical to visit a co-op and ask if anybody wants to join a different co-op?

I'm in a three person co-op and we're looking for new members. Advertising doesn't seem to work. Most players around level sixty seem happy to stay where they are.